IOF Capture the Fracture® programme announces new governance

IOF Capture the Fracture Programme announces new Governance

Following an election process, IOF has announced the composition of the new Capture the Fracture® governance.

“We are delighted to welcome 13 representatives from the 6 IOF regions to the newly constituted governance body for the IOF Capture the Fracture® Programme,” said International Osteoporosis Foundation (IOF) President Cyrus Cooper. 

The announcement follows a global call for candidatures which was initiated in March 2023. This restructuring was initiated following the immense growth and progress the programme has experienced in the past 10 years, the ever-changing global backdrop, and the growing need to extend the governance of this global programme to be more regionally representative.

During the World Congress on Osteoporosis, Osteoarthritis and Musculoskeletal Diseases (WCO-IOF-ESCEO) in Barcelona from May 4th to 7th, 2023, the new constituency of the CTF Steering Committee was formalized by the IOF Board of Governance. The Committee, which includes members from all six IOF regions (Africa, Asia Pacific, Europe, Latin America, Middle East and North America), together with representatives from the IOF Executive Committee, is composed as follows:


  • Ms. Tereza Hough, CEO, National Osteoporosis Foundation of South Africa (NOFSA), South Africa


  • Professor Belinda Beck, Professor, Griffith University and Director, The Bone Clinic, Australia
  • Professor Atsushi Suzuki, Professor, Fujita Health University, Japan
  • Professor Manju Chandran, Senior Consultant and Director, Osteoporosis and Bone Metabolism Unit, Singapore General Hospital and Clinical Professor, DUKE NUS Medical School, Singapore


  • Professor Julien Paccou, Professor of Rheumatology, Lille University Hospital, France
  • Professor Maria Luisa Brandi, President, FIRMO Foundation, Italy
  • Professor Willem Lems, Professor of Rheumatology, AmsterdamUMC, Netherlands
  • Associate Professor Thierry Chevalley, Division of Bone Diseases, Geneva University Hospitals, Switzerland

Latin America:

  • Professor Adriana Medina, Coordinator Osteoporosis Fracture Program, Hospital San Jose, Colombia
  • Doctor José Francisco Torres Naranjo, Director of the "Centro de Investigacion Ósea y de la Composición Corporal" (CIO) and President of Asociación Mexicana de Metabolismo Óseo y Mineral (AMMOM), Mexico

Middle East:

  • Professor Bagher Larijani, Director of Endocrinology and Metabolism Research Center Tehran University of Medical Sciences, Tehran, Iran

North America:

  • Doctor Famida Jiwa, President and CEO, Osteoporosis Canada, Canada
  • Associate Professor Andrea Singer, Associate Professor in the Departments of Medicine and Obstetrics and Gynecology at Georgetown University Medical Center (GUMC), United States

IOF Executive Committee: 

  • Professor Cyrus Cooper, IOF President
  • Professor Nicholas Harvey, Committee of Scientific Advisors Chair
  • Professor Jean-Yves Reginster, Committee of National Societies Chair
  • Professor René Rizzoli, IOF Treasurer

This updated Committee comprises prominent clinical, academic, and expert leaders in post-fracture care and secondary fracture prevention. The Committee will work together to provide expertise and guidance to improve efficiency in the implementation and evaluation of Fracture Liaison Services (FLS) within the framework of the CTF programme.

Professor Cooper added, ”On behalf of the IOF Board, we congratulate the new Committee members, and sincerely thank the members of the outgoing Committee along with all the candidates who demonstrated their willingness to provide expertise and guidance to the Capture the Fracture® programme”

About Capture the Fracture®

Capture the Fracture® (CTF) is a multi-stakeholder initiative, led by the International Osteoporosis Foundation (IOF), to facilitate the implementation of Post-Fracture Care (PFC) Coordination Programs, such as Fracture Liaison Services (FLS), for secondary fracture prevention. The CTF initiative, which celebrated its 10th year of service in 2022, aims to drive changes at local and regional levels to prioritize secondary fracture prevention. It sets global best practice standards and offers recognition for Fracture Liaison Services (FLS) through its Best Practice Framework. CTF also provides essential resources and documentation to build the case for prioritization of secondary fracture prevention and to help drive the implementation and quality improvement of FLS. Mentorship programs that support the development of FLS at the local level are also offered. 
Currently, the CTF network includes 835 FLS in 54 countries worldwide. FLS are invited to apply for free assessment and recognition via the CTF website’s online Best Practice Framework application platform.  #CaptureTheFracture

About IOF

The International Osteoporosis Foundation (IOF) is the world's largest nongovernmental organization dedicated to the prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of osteoporosis and related musculoskeletal diseases. IOF members, including committees of scientific researchers as well as more than 315 patient, medical and research organizations, work together to make fracture prevention and healthy mobility a worldwide heath care priority.   @iofbonehealth